Scholarship Awards 2018

The Spanish American Club, Inc. (SACI) awards scholarships 2018

By Herman Santa

Alexis Weist

Four extraordinary graduating seniors from St. Lucie County public High Schools were recently recognized as this year’s Spanish American Club, Inc. (SACI). This year’s winners were Alexis Weist, Cecilia E. Calderon, India M. Crosske and Johana Hernandez.

This year scholarship committee Chair Nancy Rozon and Co-chairs Elizabeth Mejía did a magnificent job selecting the students and running the program smoothly. This year The Spanish American Club, Inc. board of directors are: Ruben Aleman; president, Nancy Rozon; vice president, Luis Carrillo; treasurer, Ray Guadalupe; public relations, Carlos Mejía; director and Charlie Quiles; Substitute director.

Over the past 26 years, the club has awarded more than $31,000 in scholarships to 48 Hispanic seniors of Martin and St. Lucie counties.  The scholarship is based on need and a proven record of academic excellence.

Cecilia E. Calderon

SACI was the first Hispanic social, civic and sport club to award scholarships to Hispanic seniors from Martin and St. Lucie Counties public High Schools. Today, the nonprofit club continues to embrace diversity and give all members of the community an equal chance to pursue their dreams.

The mission of the club is to promote friendship and solidarity among its members, neighbors and other non profit organizations of the Treasure Coast through cultural, social, civic, charity and sports activities to promote knowledge of the Spanish speaking countries, their geography, history, art and folklore.


India M. Crosske

Calendar of future events of the club

* Saturday, July 28 “International Pride”

* Saturday, August 25 “Disco Extravaganza”

* Friday, September 28 “Hispanic Heritage”

* Saturday, October 27 “Halloween Event”

Johana Hernandez

* Saturday, November 24 “Sports Event”

* Friday, December 28 “New Year’s Eve Event”

To learn more about the club’s events such as Scholarship, Dancing, Golf, Bowling or Dominoes groups please contact the president of the club Ruben Aleman at: For more information regarding the club’s events, articles and photos please visit our website at:

The following students have been awarded scholarships since 1994.


1994/Armando Gil/México/Ft.Pierce

1995/Elisa Rodríguez/Puerto Rico/Pt. St. Lucie

1996/Jennifer Torres/Puerto Rico/Pt. St. Lucie

1997/Alfredo Rosado/Puerto Rico/Pt. St. Lucie

1998/Pedro Luna/México/Ft. Pierce

1999/Ella R. Flores/México/Ft. Pierce

2000/Miguel J. Gaspar/Guatemala/Indiantown

2001/Gabriela Padilla/México/Indiantown

2002/Roberto Cabrera/México/Ft. Pierce

2003/María A. Fernández/Venezuela/Stuart

2004/Mónica A. Herrera/Colombia/Pt. St. Lucie

2005/Viridiana Félix/Guatemala/Indiantown

2006/Jessica Benítez/México/Pt. St. Lucie

2006/Miriam Hernández/Guatemala/Indiantown

2007/Amy Pérez/Guatemala/Indiantown

2007/Daisy Trujillo/México/Indiantown

2007/Venessa Pelayo/México/Ft Pierce

2008/Floriberta Reynoso/México/Ft. Pierce

2008/Anthony Sanchez/Colombia/Ft. Pierce

2009/Tayliz J. Rodríguez/Puerto Rico/Palm City

2009/Ana G. Fuentes/México/Indiantown

2010/ Marisol Gómez/México/Ft. Pierce

2010/ Elba Valdéz/México/Stuart

2011/ Nancy Velásquez/Guatemala/Indiantown

2011/ Tatiana Muñoz/Colombia/Port St. Lucie

2011/ Adriana Rodríguez/Cuba/Port St. Lucie

2012/ Lorena Morales/ México/Indiantown

2012/Vladimir Villa/México/Stuart

2012/Daniel González/Venezuela/Ft. Pierce

2013/Sarahi Mojáras/México/Stuart

2013/Pamela Garcia/México/Stuart

2013/Vanessa Guárnico/Colombia/Port St. Lucie

2014/Samuel Villa/México/Stuart

2014/Antonett Nuñez/Perú/Stuart

2015/Juan Carlos Perez/Guatemala/Jensen Beach

2015/Matias N. Campora/Uruguay/Port St. Lucie

2016/Nicholas Gomez/Colombia/Port St. Lucie

2016/Alexia Cepeda/Mexico/Port St. Lucie

2016/Ariana Ramos/Puerto Rico/Port St. Lucie

2017/Gabriela Garcia/Mexico/Ft. Pierce

2017/Jennifer Arriola/Nicaragua/Ft Pierce

2017/Barbara Moreno/Venezuela/Stuart

2017/Moriah Weir/Jamaica/Ft. Pierce

2017/Dayana Espinosa/Mexico/Ft. Pierce

2018/Alexis Weist/Ecuador/Port St. Lucie

2018/Cecilia E. Calderon/El Salvador/Port St. Lucie

2018/India M. Crosske/USA/Port St. Lucie

2018/Johana Hernandez/Cuba/Port St. Lucie

%d bloggers like this: